Wk 7 – Activity – Snapchat

The first two are screenshots of my snapchat drawings and the rest are from my classmates. 🙂

   
    
    
  
How Periscope, Instagram and Snapchat are similar is that you are posting things that are going on in your life. Instagram and Snapchat are similar because you can take pictures or videos. You can personally send them to one particular person or upload it where everyone can view it. You can make your account public or private. On Instagram if you like someone’s picture or video it gives them a heart. Periscope also has hearts and you can give someone many hearts if you want to. On all three social accounts you can write comments. Periscope and Snapchat are similar because what you upload on these accounts only lasts for 24 hours and then it’s gone. 

How Periscope, Instagram and Snapchat are different is that on Periscope you can only make videos.  You can also have a conversation with people all over the world while you’re making your broadcast. People can send comments while you’re doing your broadcast and you can answer their questions or comment back if you want to. On Instagram you can comment on each other’s picture but you also have to tag the persons Instagram username so that they know that you replied back. Also, when you upload a video or picture on Instagram it stays there forever unless you want to delete it. On Periscope and Snapchat, what you upload only lasts 24 hours.  Another difference is that when you take a screenshot on Periscope or Snapchat it notifies you that someone took a screenshot. Instagram doesn’t have that feature. 

I think I like Snapchat more because I noticed that I use it more often than Instagram. I also think it’s more acceptable to make many posts on Snapchat. I think that on Instagram if you post many pictures or videos in one day it can be seen as “too much” and it might not get as many likes. I like the new features on snapchat. When you take a picture of yourself or make a video, you can add these silly animated faces. For example, you can have heart eyes or have a rainbow come out of your mouth. It also includes sound to these funny faces. I also like how you can see who views your post and if they took a screenshot. 

I don’t like Instagram as much as I used to. I think it is because my feed is sometimes dead. I don’t care as much as before to upload a picture everyday. Now it’s more like once a week. I mainly use it to look at my friend’s posts or to explore posts. Sometimes it’s also when one of my friends or family tag me in a post. 

I think this Snapchat activity did give us some type of “dialog.” We all knew that we needed to add each other on Snapchat to be able to view a classmate’s snapchat drawing. Some people sent me a snapchat, others posted their drawing on their story. I noticed similarities with my classmates. Many of us were at school or we made snapchats at home or work.

Leave a Reply

